Aparna Ramaswamy Receives Doris Duke Artist Award

Twenty-one Performing Artists Receive $275,000 Each as Recipients of Doris Duke Artist Awards, A Landmark Program That Has Supported 101 Artists With a Total of $27.7 Million Since 2012
May 3, 2016
Press Release
Aparna's Artist Profile


NEW YORK, NY — The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation (DDCF) announced today the recipients of the fifth annual Doris Duke Artist Awards. Appointed in recognition of their creative vitality and ongoing contributions to the fields of dance, jazz and theater, awardees will each receive $275,000 in flexible, multi-year funding as well as financial and legal counseling, professional development activities and peer-to-peer learning opportunities provided by Creative Capital, DDCF’s primary partner in the awards.

With the 2016 class, DDCF will have awarded approximately $27.7 million to 101 noteworthy artists through the Doris Duke Artist Awards.

This year’s Doris Duke Artists are:

  • Kyle Abraham (Dance)
  • Sharon Bridgforth (Theater)
  • Dave Douglas (Jazz)
  • Faye Driscoll (Dance)
  • Janie Geiser (Theater)
  • Miguel Gutierrez (Dance)
  • Fred Hersch (Jazz)
  • Wayne Horvitz (Jazz)
  • Taylor Mac (Theater)
  • Dianne McIntyre (Dance)
  • Jason Moran (Jazz)
  • Mark Morris (Dance)
  • Lynn Nottage (Theater)
  • Thaddeus Phillips (Theater)
  • Will Power (Theater)
  • Aparna Ramaswamy (Dance)
  • Matana Roberts (Jazz)
  • Jen Shyu (Jazz)
  • Wadada Leo Smith (Jazz)
  • Morgan Thorson (Dance)
  • Henry Threadgill (Jazz)

Read more